Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

The Bodhisattva’s Toolbox: Jewels for the Journey

19 Aug Posted by in Buddhist, Podcast | Comments
The Bodhisattva’s Toolbox: Jewels for the Journey

The Four DignitiesThe Four Dignities are typically represented as mythical animals (dragon, tiger, snow lion and garuda) which represent aspects of the Bodhisattva’s attitude.

Tiger symbolizes a “relaxed confidence” which is gentle but energized. He is aware, kind, modest and fulfilled.

Snow Lion
Lion symbolizes an “irrepressible joy” which is free of doubt, clear and precise. His synchronized body and mind are full of the vibrant energy of basic goodness and a sense of delight.

Garuda symbolizes an”outrageousness” possessed of strength, daring and fearlessness. Nothing holds him back, and he soars beyond limits totally free. Without reference points, he moves in the space beyond hope and fear.

Dragon symbolizes the “inscrutability” of spontaneity and elegance. He defies simple definitions and rests still wherever he dwells. He is generous and equanimous.

A playful episode exploring the Four Dignities of the Warrior’s Path: confidence, irrepressible joy, outrageousness and inscrutability. If you aspire to the path of awakening, it’s time to get hiking and these instructions are your trail mix!

Additional Resources:
1. The Four Dignities correspondences
2. Four Dignities That Bring Confidence into Everyday Life — a teaching by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.